Collaborative Members

The Iona Collaborative is a cooperative project directed by Seminary of the Southwest and currently including twenty-nine Episcopal Dioceses. We provide high-quality, graduate-level, digitized curriculum to local diocesan educational programs for use in the formation of priests, deacons, licensed lay leaders, and faithful disciples.

Iona Collaborative provides each participating diocese with significant flexibility for how to organize teaching and formation. Local mentors and teachers use Iona’s engaging videos and other mixed media tools in a variety of ways to stimulate rich conversation and opportunities for learning when Iona students gather in their diocesan settings. Plans are currently being implemented to enhance this curriculum with ongoing additions and supplements that offer the most up-to-date scholarship and pedagogy in theological education.

To learn more about Iona Collaborative contact:

The Rev. John Lewis, D.Phil.
Director of the Iona Center
Seminary of the Southwest
512-439-0398 (o)
210-621-8287 (c)


To provide high quality resources for theological education at the local level.

Core Values:

  • Educational Excellence
  • Local Adaptability
  • Collaboration
  • Visionary Leadership
  • Community
  • Transformation

Iona Collaborative’s structure for clergy education and formation promotes community-building in several important ways. As students meet together regularly in the their local settings, they establish deep and lasting collegial relationships that continue after their ordination and placement in the diocese.

Iona Collaborative also invites diocesan leaders, deans, and mentors to gather annually to share local expertise and experience, review best practices, get updates on new teaching material from faculty members at Seminary of the Southwest, explore new technologies, and build bridges among dioceses across the Episcopal Church.


The Iona Collaborative clergy training curriculum is a rigorous, yet accessible educational program designed specifically for those who will be ordained as priests and deacons, as well as those who are studying for canonical lay licensure. The curriculum has been designed to train people in a wide variety of subjects. Most of the courses taught in the curriculum mirror similar courses in residential seminaries. They require students to read, study, and reflect extensively in the six canonical areas of concentration in which a candidate for ordination must be examined and show proficiency. The curriculum may be tailored differently to meet the local needs of formation of priests and deacons. The curriculum is easily adaptable for a variety of local diocesan teaching schedules and formats (including in-person and videoconference sessions). It covers intensively the following major areas of focus:

  • Bible
  • Church History
  • Theology and Ethics
  • Anglican Studies
  • Homiletics
  • Liturgy and Music
  • Spiritual Practices
  • Pastoral Ministry and Offices
  • Theory and Practice of Ministry
  • Congregational Life and Leadership
  • Multicultural Engagement


The faculty of Iona Collaborative includes most members of the teaching staff at Seminary of the Southwest, as well as highly experienced teachers and leaders from neighboring dioceses, who in many cases are also ordained and academically-credentialed. The faculty of the Iona Collaborative includes (in alphabetical order) such instructors as:

Dr. Scott Bader-Saye
Academic Dean & Helen and Everett H. Jones Professor of Christian Ethics and Moral Theology
Seminary of the Southwest

Dr. Anthony Baker
Clinton S. Quin Professor of Systematic Theology
Seminary of the Southwest

Dr. Steven Bishop
Associate Professor of Old Testament
Seminary of the Southwest

The Rev. Mark Crawford, Ph.D.
Dean for Priest Formation
Iona School for Ministry, Diocese of Texas

The Rev. Mary Lenn Dixon, Ph.D.
Dean, Diaconal and Lay Formation
Iona School for Ministry, Diocese of Texas

The Rt. Rev. Andy Doyle
Ninth Bishop of Texas
Diocese of Texas

The Rt. Rev. Jeff Fisher
Bishop Suffragan
Diocese of Texas

The Rev. Micah Jackson, Ph.D.
Bishop John Elbridge Hines Associate Professor of Preaching,
Seminary of the Southwest

The Rev. Nathan Jennings, Ph.D.
J. Milton Richardson Associate Professor of Liturgics and Anglican Studies, and Director of Community Worship
Seminary of the Southwest

The Rev. Daniel Joslyn-Siemiatkoski, Ph.D.
Duncalf-Villavaso Professor of Church History
Seminary of the Southwest

The Very Rev. Cynthia Briggs Kittredge, Th.D.
Dean & President, Professor of New Testament
Seminary of the Southwest

The Rev. John Lewis, D.Phil.
Director of Formational Outreach
Seminary of the Southwest

The Rev. Jane Patterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of New Testament, Director of Community Care
Seminary of the Southwest

Ms. Denise Trevino-Gomez
Missioner for Intercultural Development
Diocese of Texas